Caux Round Table 2023 Dayton Award: Nominations Deadline Tomorrow!

As you know, the Caux Round Table for Moral Capitalism seeks annually to recognize and honor leaders in the Minnesota business community and so presents an annual Dayton Award for Distinction in   Moral Capitalism.

In 2019, the first Dayton Award was given to Douglas M. Baker, Jr. of Ecolab, in 2020 to Andrew Cecere of USBank and Don and Sondra Samuels for leadership in the community, in 2021 to police chiefs Medaria Arradondo of Minneapolis and Todd Axtell of St. Paul for leadership in public service and in 2022 to Mary Kowalski and Kris Kowalski Christiansen of Kowalski’s Markets and Kyle Smith of Reell Precision Manufacturing Corporation.

This year, the Caux Round Table will present the fifth Dayton Award.  I write to ask for your recommendations as to a suitable business executive to receive the award.  Our board has established  the criteria for selection of an award recipient as:

– CEO of a Minnesota company or similar operational organization
– Revenue and profits if relevant to mission
– Community impact if relevant to mission
– Demonstrated innovation/response to market opportunities
– Quality of company culture
– Care of employees
– Customer satisfaction
– Environmental stewardship
– Personal community commitment
– Company community commitment
– Vision and prudence: level 5 leadership traits (Jim Collins: From Good to Great)

In 250 words or less, please tell us why your nominee is deserving of the award.

In addition, we will take into consideration other factors you bring to our attention as deserving of recognition for their contribution to the enhanced well-being of Minnesota.

Please send completed nominations to

The deadline for nominations is 5:00 pm tomorrow, Wednesday, January 31.